Agenda Item 3

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Council of the City of Sheffield held in the Council Chamber within the Town Hall, Sheffield, on Wednesday, 4th July, 2012, pursuant to notice duly given and Summonses duly served.

PRESENT

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor John Campbell)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Vickie Priestley)

1	Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore John Robson Jack Scott	10	Dore & Totley Ward Colin Ross Joe Otten Keith Hill	19	Mosborough Ward Anthony Downing David Barker
2	Beauchief/Greenhill Ward Roy Munn Simon Clement-Jones Clive Skelton	11	East Ecclesfield Ward Joyce Wright Steven Wilson Garry Weatherall	20	Nether Edge Ward Nikki Bond Qurban Hussain Anders Hanson
3	Beighton Ward Ian Saunders Chris Rosling-Josephs	12	Ecclesall Ward Diana Stimely Roger Davison	21	Richmond Ward Martin Lawton
4	Birley Ward Bryan Lodge Denise Fox Karen McGowan	13	Firth Park Ward Sheila Constance Chris Weldon Alan Law	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Price Peter Rippon
5	Broomhill Ward Jayne Dunn Stuart Wattam Shaffaq Mohammed	14	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar	23	Southey Ward Tony Damms Leigh Bramall Gill Furniss
6	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	Gleadless Valley Ward Steve Jones Tim Rippon Cate McDonald	24	Stannington Ward Katie Condliffe
7	Central Ward Robert Murphy Jillian Creasy Mohammed Maroof	16	Graves Park Ward Denise Reaney lan Auckland Bob McCann	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Richard Crowther Philip Wood Alison Brelsford
8	Crookes Ward Rob Frost Geoff Smith	17	Hillsborough Ward George Lindars- Hammond Robert Johnson Janet Bragg	26	Walkley Ward Neale Gibson Nikki Sharpe Ben Curran
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mary Lea Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal	18	Manor Castle Ward Pat Midgley Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox	27	West Ecclesfield Ward Adam Hurst Alf Meade Trevor Bagshaw
				28	Woodhouse Ward Jackie Satur Mick Rooney

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Sylvia Anginotti, David Baker, Penny Baker, Isobel Bowler, Helen Mirfin Boukouris, Lynn Rooney, Ray Satur and Janice Sidebottom.

2. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE CITY OF SHEFFIELD

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: On the Motion of the Lord Mayor (Councillor John Campbell), seconded by The Leader of the Council (Councillor Julie Dore), that under and by virtue of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Honorary Freedom of the City of Sheffield be conferred by the Council on Mrs. Tawakel Karman, Yemeni human rights activist, and a person of distinction, having been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2011 in recognition of her non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.